My Last Day and Worries of Adjustment: Friday 21st October

Today is my last full day with the Sasaki family, as tomorrow morning I return to Tokyo. It has been a truly incredible month, the only negative aspect of which is that it has gone far too quickly! I have been lucky enough to experience first hand life in a typical Japanese family, have made a good number of memories that will stay with me for life, whilst my Japanese has begun to slowly show signs of improving beyond the infantile. None of this would have been possible without the Sasaki’s, a wonderful and genuine family whose very nature seems to be to give without expecting to receive, to accept without questioning, and to encourage without insincerity. I have been exceptionally lucky to have spent this last month with them, and I have every intention of keeping in touch for a long long time. I have even told Mr. Sasaki that if, come May, I am still in Japan then I will come back up to Hokkaido to do the Touya marathon with him, which I think he was delighted about. At any rate I know there’ll be a bed and a hot meal waiting for me.

The last supper.

I am genuinely worried that my brain is going to explode when I return to Tokyo, as the pace of life there is just so different to what I have been experiencing here in Touya. Getting used to packed trains and people filled streets again is certainly going to take a little bit of adjustment. I can only hope that it doesn’t rain for at least a couple of days, as the sight of someone riding a bicycle on a busy pavement whilst carrying an umbrella would almost certainly cause me to self-combust.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Last Day and Worries of Adjustment: Friday 21st October

  1. Haikugirl says:

    Glad to hear you’ve had such a positive homestay experience. Can’t wait to hear about the next parts of your adventure!

  2. Chris says:

    Sounds like quite a positive experience. Japan has been an incredible thing for you hasn’t it

Leave a Reply

