A Relaxing Trip and Refining My Masculinity: Saturday 22nd October

And so I returned. After saying my farewells and thanks to the Sasakis I boarded the train to Chitose airport, and very nearly didn’t get off again, seeing as how it was rammed to beyond capacity; a sweetener for my imminent arrival in Tokyo no doubt. After literally fighting my way off the train I checked in to my flight with considerable ease, managing to go through security without once causing a serious international incident. The plane ride itself was fine; there were only three times which I felt in mortal danger, which by my reckoning makes it a relaxing trip indeed.

So me.

When I finally got back to my apartment I was glad to see that it hadn’t been infested with squatters, cockroaches, or an unthinkable evil hybrid of the two. Once I had unpacked it was time to get down to the serious business of exchanging omiyage (presents/souvenirs) with Sung, who had been to Korea on a business trip whilst I was in Hokkaido. Whilst she seemed very happy with her assortment of Hello Kitty paraphernalia, I was absolutely made up by the wallet that she had bought me. She said that it was only meant as a joke present, and that given it was pink and adorned with a butterfly I don’t think she was actually expecting me to use it, how wrong she was…

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

