Acute Claustrophobia and a Never Ending Series of Dinner Parties: Sunday 23rd October

How strange it is to once again wake up in a room that you could fit inside a shoebox. Whilst I never took for granted the largess of my room in the Sasaki household, I certainly didn’t think that I’d be in danger of suffering from acute claustrophobia upon my return to Tokyo. I also have to keep reminding myself that I am now in a house where the main doorway between the kitchen and living quarters is too small for me, although seeing as I didn’t adjust in the full year that I was living here prior to my homestay, I fear that my cranium is in for something of a turbulent time.

Crestfallen meal-for-one anyone?

Tonight I cooked for myself for the first time in well over a month, and I was reminded of what a tedious and depressing scenario this can be. I almost always cook far too much for two, let alone one, and having only my inner monologue for company is enough to drive anyone insane; even the additional effort that I took of trying to present my food in a ‘jazzy’ fashion felt wasted. I fear that the only solution is to host a never-ending series of dinner parties, well either that or go down to the park and share my food with the whinos.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acute Claustrophobia and a Never Ending Series of Dinner Parties: Sunday 23rd October

  1. Mike says:

    Actually, a friend of mine in Hokkaido spends most nights cooking for someone else or having someone come over to be cooked for… can be done!

    I think the pudding-bowl shape of your meal looks a little sad in itself. I recommend a birthday candle!

    There’s also probably the issue of having just left a household full of people to find yourself on your own again in a tiny space. Tokyo can be isolating like that. You also haven’t gone back to work/study/theatre yet, so you’re more isolated than usual.

    Just played ultimate frisbee with Linden & Ben in Yoyogi Park on Sunday–you should definitely come next time! It feels unfair being by far the tallest person on the pitch…

    • truehamlet says:

      Mike,

      I’ll be fine, the only thing I’m suffering from is an acute case of the Drama Queens!

      Frisbee, defo keen for that next time.

Leave a Reply

