Making an Impression and Something About an Ambulance: Wednesday 26th October

Today was the first day of my work placement, for which I was due to report to the theatre’s reception at 10:00. Thankfully I arrived at Setagaya Public theatre at 09:30, because when I did I realised that I was at the wrong place! A couple of frantic emails and trains across Tokyo later, and I finally arrived at Saitama Arts Theatre. Not exactly the best of starts to a work placement, but thankfully the meeting which had been held for my benefit was only delayed by approximately ten minutes, and I think that my well rehearsed self-introduction went someway to making up for my earlier near-catastrophic error.

My copy of the script, which I have approximately 48 hours to learn if I want to be ready to step in on opening night...

I’m still not entirely sure what my role is going to be at the theatre over the next 6 months, but if today is anything to go by then I am in for a fascinating and mostly incomprehensible ride. The theatre is currently in final preparations for a new show (‘The Wasteland’), which opens on Saturday, and so I spent the afternoon watching six hours worth of rehearsals, getting unparalleled access to how the directors and actors work. This was all after a morning meeting (where someone said something about an ambulance, and then asked for my reassurance that Hamlet was a long play), and lunch with the boss which I had been a little terrified about, but which ended up being a chat about why I love theatre, interspersed with comments about my ‘unbelievable height’. I’m due in again tomorrow at 10, and this time I feel confident of actually going to the correct bloody place!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making an Impression and Something About an Ambulance: Wednesday 26th October

  1. Mike says:

    Um… you’re at the Saitama Arts Theatre?? Yes, that is a long way from Setagaya. And about 6 blocks from my apartment. What are your hours? It would be ridiculous not to meet up when you have a chance.

    • truehamlet says:

      My hours seem to change on at least a daily basis, but we start a new project tomorrow, so will probably know a bit better then. At any rate of course we shall meet up!

Leave a Reply

