Matchmaking and a Possibly a Post Modern Ghost Story: Friday 28th October

Today my boss gave me free tickets to a Kabuki show on November 9th. I’m presuming that he realises that given the start time of 16:00 I will have to leave work early, but he seemed more concerned in telling me that I will be sitting next to one of the girls from the office. I could be wrong but I think he is trying to match make, thankfully nothing kills a romantic atmosphere more than 4 hours of theatre in a language only one of you understands.

Sunset in Saitama.

This evening was the dress rehearsal for ‘The Wasteland’, which means that I have now watched the whole show about 2 1/2 – 3 times, and yet I am still none the wiser as to what the hell the damn thing is about. The scenario that I have constructed in my head is that it is a post-modern ghost story, about the essences that you carry around with you, as a reminder of your past deeds. I’m still not entirely sure how the constant references to boxing, nor the repeated use of a jungle gym fit in, but I just try to ignore these pieces of the puzzle.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

