Purgatory’s Waiting Room and the Hilarity of Exams: Friday 4th November

Today I had to take the day of work in order to pick up my new visa, and to take a mock test for next month’s JLPT N2 exam, so whilst I didn’t have to sit through hours of rehearsals, or prepare thousands of copies of promotional material, it was hardly a holiday. In fairness though, the visa extension was actually a surprisingly painless experience, and for the first time it didn’t involve waiting around for endless hours in a building that has all the charm of purgatory’s waiting room.

At least I got my name right, but only because I had to write it in English.

The mock test was an absolute joke. In the reading, grammar, and Kanji sections I can count on one hand the number of questions that I could understand, let alone answer, which doesn’t exactly bode well for the real thing, exactly a month to the day. However, the funniest thing of all was that I was actually able to understand most of the listening exam, which up until now has been my bête noir. Who knows, perhaps some of the language is finally starting to seep into my knowledge-resistant brain; another 5 years or so and I may actually be ready to take the JLPT N2 and have a chance of passing it.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

