Duplicate Bills and Bathing Like a Contortionist: Sunday 6th November

I have gotten into an awful habit, since arriving in Japan, of simply paying all of my bills without question or hesitation. So far it is a system that seems to have served me well, but I am certain that there have been times when I have paid a bill and it’s duplicate (which seem to be sent on a completely sporadic basis), assuming that the electricity/gas/water companies will simply credit my account by the time the next payment is required. However, I have no guaranties that this is actually the case, and whilst most of my utility bills are generally less than around ¥3000 (~£24), I am loathe to have to pay twice for my national health insurance, as that comes in at a slightly more hefty ¥10000. I am absolutely convinced that I paid this bill two weeks ago, but as I have also developed the delightful habit of throwing away all of my receipts and proofs of purchase, I cannot be sure. As such I have decided to leave it for the time being, assuming that if I really do still need to pay it that I will be sent a timely reminder, and as such assumptions have clearly served me so well up until now I feel vindicated in my decision.

I am 90% certain that I have already paid this, but we shall see…

This evening I paid a visit to my local Sento for the first time in a good 3 or 4 months. Unfortunately though I seemed to have chosen a time when every single middle-aged man in Tokyo also felt like a quick soak, as the place was rammed. This meant that I had to abandon bathing house etiquette and wedge myself in between two other men whilst I gave myself a wash before entering the actual bath. This was a nerve shredding experience, as after previous visits I am only too aware of the dangers of over-vigorous cleansing, and so it was that I found myself huddled over the taps like a contortionist, trying desperately not to let a single drop of water stray outside of my immediate vicinity. I think I succeeded, and thankfully within 5 minutes of arriving the place had magically emptied, but surely this was only a happy coincidence.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

