A Free Play and the Water Cycle for Five-Year Olds: Monday 7th November

The translation of ‘Route 99’ continues apace, and whilst it is pretty grueling work it is definitely rewarding. I now know exactly why there are a load of old men on a balcony with cameras (they are taking photos of the planes from the local airbase), and also that the reason that the women appear so excited in one of the scenes is because they are gossiping about a love affair (although I am yet to determine the culprits).Β  I still haven’t worked out exactly how the driver of the truck (which was carrying the island’s famous steamed buns) was responsible for its crash, nor am I certain that the analogy to slavery for one of the character’s ill-behaved daughters is an entirely correct translation, but I’m definitely making progress. Also, if my translation does turn out to be complete bunk, then at least I have a new and entirely copyright-free play on my hands.

And if you get lost, just follow my jumper.

We had some new students for the Drama Communication lecture series, who prefaced their entry by asking ‘ Is this the class where you play games?’: a pretty apt tag-line if ever there was one. Today’s lesson was about the importance of knowing your target audience, and I communicated this to the students by asking them all to pretend to be 5 year olds whilst I explained the water cycle to them via the medium of running around the room like a mad man. It seemed to do the trick, and the students really got into their roles, making me grateful that I had previously stated that they definitely did have the capacity to go to the toilet without assistance.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

