Behind the Camera and The Show Must Go On: Friday 11th November

It transpires that the play within a play that features in ‘Route 99’ is being doing in the style of Kabuki, just to simplify things further. In order to achieve a sense of realism in this task, today we had a visit from a Kabuki Sensei, who took the meta-cast through their paces, whilst I was tasked with filming the whole ordeal, so that the actors and director could look back at it at a later date. At first I was absolutely petrified that I was using the camera incorrectly, and that I had somehow failed to press the record button; however, as time went by I gradually became more confident, so that by the end I was attempting long range pull-focus shots and unexpected close ups. It wasn’t until much later that it occurred to me that people were probably far more interested in a film that simply kept everything in the frame, rather than one that jumped about like a cricket with ADHD.

Worth seeing, especially if you can somehow convince someone to pay you to do so.

One of the major benefits of working at a nationally renowned arts centre is that I get to watch a number of plays and concerts for free, as even if the show is a sell-out I am normally allowed to attend the dress rehearsal as a ‘member of staff’. This is what happened tonight with the Japanese premier of Jérôme Bel’s ‘The Show Must Go on’, an experimental dance that mixed local people (non-actors) with famous popular music. It was a fairly enjoyable piece, although there were definitely times when I questioned its artistic integrity. However, as I had gotten a free ticket and was watching a matinee performance (thereby meaning it was during my ‘working hours’) I had invested neither my time nor my money, and so was more than happy to spend 90 minutes listening to a fine collection of music interspersed by the odd bit of interpretive dance. My only regret was that someone else had been left in charge of the filming.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

