Directions and Quail’s Eggs: Sunday 13th November

Today a truly incredible thing happened, I was approached by a Japanese person for directions AND was able to tell them exactly where they needed to go. I don’t know what I was more surprised by, the fact that I was asked in the first place, or the fact that I was actually able to offer useful assistance. I mean yes, there is the slight chance that I may have accidentally said to turn East at the railway tracks when I meant to say left, but I was just caught up in the moment of actually being understood on a sporadic topic; I’m sure he’ll have gotten there eventually.

An absolute bargain!

Almost 14 months on, and the price of commodities in Japan still never fails to surprise me. Why is it for example that six chicken eggs set me back ¥212 (~1.70), yet a dozen quail eggs would only have cost me ¥120? It’s almost as if the prices have been set according to volume rather than demand or scarcity. Sadly there were no ostrich, or even duck, eggs to test this theory against, but it has definitely got me thinking about the prospect of filling my suitcase with quails eggs and then bringing them back with me to the UK at Christmas, whereupon I could sell them to restaurants at an incredible mark up. Leaving aside the issue of refrigeration for the time being, I can’t see why this wouldn’t work…

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

