Synchronised Dressing and Doughnuts: Wednesday 16th November

Recently I have noticed that one of the cast members of ‘Route 99’ (Kassai-san, an 80 years old former jet pilot) and I always seem to be wearing very similar outfits. Yesterday we were both sporting matching neckerchiefs; whilst today we had, independently of one another, come to the conclusion that it was the correct time to air a Christmas jumper. I probably ought to get his phone number so that we can sort out this synchronised dressing malarkey, or failing that I could just follow the lead of one of the other male members of the troupe and turn up for work in a pair of dungarees.

The offending article(s).

In one of the breaks today I was asked if I would like a doughnut (which had been donated to the theatre as part of a promotional offer) by one of the back stage crew. However, at the time I really didn’t understand what it was that was being said to me, and so the offer was repeated a couple of times, a small crowd started to build up, and I was ushered towards the plate of sugary treats. ‘Ah, would I like a doughnut?’ I said, placing extra emphasis on the pronunciation of the word, thereby sparking a debate regarding the difference between how it is said in English and Japanese, which further developed into a prolonged discussion about the Yorkshire dialect. Amazingly, I had somehow managed to turn my misunderstanding of a very simple word into something that actually ended up reflecting me in a reasonable light, and all it had taken was wild exaggeration and shameless profiteering. A career in politics may or may not beckon.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

