A Diet of Shakespeare and A Lecture on Symbology: Thursday 17th November

One of the most difficult things that can occur when you are trying to have a conversation with someone in Japanese is when they change the topic without prior warning. This happened to me today when I thought that I was discussing the difficulties of learning technical theatrical vocabulary with a cast member of ‘Route 99’. After being asked what I had assumed was ‘What is a typical British play?’ I responded with ‘Hamlet’. This was countered with ‘What, ham?’, followed by me saying: ‘No Hamlet’; this intellectual exchange continued, until I realised that I was being asked me what a typical British meal consisted of. Thankfully I was able to rectify my mistake before anyone became convinced that the average Englishman survives on a lonely diet of ham and Shakespeare.

Despite today's experiences, I have no idea of the relevance of this symbology, found on a manhole cover in Saitama (and nowhere near anything even resembling a football stadium).

Later in the day I got into another rather interesting discussion with a different cast member, in which he attempted to explain to me all of the symbology in ‘Route 99’, and what it meant to the average Japanese person. Needless to say I became hopelessly lost, but the odd fraction that I did understand seemed to be fairly interesting. All I’d really wanted to know was why white paint was being used by the backstage crew instead of red, but I decided to just ‘go along’ with where he was taking the conversation, all to aware of the danger that could be wreaked by a sudden change in direction.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

