Subjective Pseudo-Realism and an Inappropriate Mascot: Thursday 24th November

One of the major difficulties that I am having as I slowly work my way through trying to read ‘Route 99’ is the issue of subject, i.e. who/what is doing something and who/what is it being done to. Japanese is notorious for glossing over this rather essential detail, but whereas a native speaker is easily able to deduce the focus from the context of the writing, those of us armed with only a passable understanding of the language are often left out at sea, with only a couple of particles and some uncertain tenses for shipmates. As such, whilst I know that a certain event has happened I am not certain who is the victim and who is the perpetrator, and as this is never made explicit from the characters onstage personas, I am currently more than a little confused. The fact that there appears to be an element of pseudo-realism to the proceedings certainly doesn’t help matters.

If the Police insist on having a mascot, then surely they could have chosen a better name than Piipo. A name which does nothing but conjure up an unhealthily voyeuristic nature.

I recently received a package from the local constabulary, asking me to fill in the enclosed residential information card and then telephone for it to be collected. Whilst I have no qualms in doing so I have been delaying matters for the following three reasons: 1) There is no telephone number for me to call, and shamefully I am still unaware as to the location of my local police box (although since it has taken them over a year to find me I shouldn’t feel to bad); 2) The form is in Japanese and will require a couple of hours to pour over in detail; and 3) I find it hard to take seriously any official request which comes in enclosed in an envelope bearing a cartoon mascot.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

