Important Instructions and Internal Directing: Sunday 27th November

There continues to be large sections of the working day that pass me by without understanding. Thankfully this never seems to have too detrimental an effect on my ‘work’, and I am always careful to double check, in very basic terms, any task that is required of me. However, there continues to be the odd important-sounding instruction that slips through the net, such as today when the people sat next to me were warned that ‘in the event of a big earthquake one should definitely…’. Unfortunately I missed the end of the sentence, and so spent the remainder of the rehearsal trying to work out exactly what one should do in the event of a large earthquake, whilst convincing myself that there was obviously a good reason why I had not yet been informed of any evacuation procedure.

An anemic looking Christmas tree at Yonohonmachi station.

I am still a long way from understating the inner workings of ‘Route 99’, but that doesn’t stop me from attempting to direct proceedings from inside my head. Having carefully studied the directing process for the past three weeks or so I now know exactly where everybody needs to be standing in relation to one another; in other words I may not have a clue what the actors are saying, but I know where they have to say it from. Unfortunately this internal directing occasionally spills out, and I catch myself desperately trying to cover up my forceful gestures as a nervous tic or involuntary movement, because obviously they are far more acceptable.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

