Microscopically Shallow and Properly Existing: Thursday 1st December

Today I submitted my half-page English synopsis for ‘Route 99’, and the feedback I received was that I had done a great job but that I needed to go into more detail, 2-3 pages worth to be precise. Unfortunately this means that my tactic of being purposefully aloof will have to be abandoned, and that I am basically going to have to guess what the last 1/3 of the play is about. Not that my understanding of the first 2/3 could be classed as anything other than microscopically shallow.

Surprisingly few corrections…

During one of this afternoon’s breaks a young onlooker, who wanted to know what I considered to be the most important aspect of acting, approached me. I attempted to explain that whilst a lot of Japanese theatre seems to be concerned with the correct shape and form, in Europe a greater emphasis is placed on being able to realistically portray the characters in the play. Unfortunately, due to the choice of words in my  ‘explanation’ he is now probably under the impression that in Europe ‘actors try their hardest to properly exist’.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Microscopically Shallow and Properly Existing: Thursday 1st December

  1. Rabbit says:

    Woah! The play is written by Ryo Iwamatsu?! I worked with him on his show “The Ghost of Murray Hill” back in 2009. If he comes to the rehearsals, please say “hi” to him for me!

Leave a Reply

