A Subtle Semantic Difference and Japanese Ambrosia: Saturday 3rd December

Today I received feedback for my ‘synopsis’, and amazingly it was almost entirely positive. Aside from the fact that I had made up an entire sub-plot involving an eviction by a non-existent militia, the theatre seemed delighted with my attempts. Whilst I was obviously chuffed to hear that my work was appreciated, the skeptic in me can’t help wondering that they only thought they were reading an English synopsis of the play ‘Route 99’, whereas what they were actually reading was a synopsis of a play I thought was ‘Route 99; a subtle, but crucial semantic difference, and just one of the many reasons why I will never find work as a translator.

Everything that is right with Japan, in one neat little bottle.

Just when you have had enough of the packed trains, brolly wielding simpletons, and indecipherable language, something always seems to come along to remind you why you bother. Somewhat unexpectedly my latest pick-me-up came in the shape of a soft drink: ‘Fanta Funmix’, AKA the Japanese Ambrosia. Some boffin at Coca Cola decided that it would be a good idea to mix Coke and Fanta, and if there is a more deserving recipient for this year’s Noble Prize for Chemistry then I would like to see it! Unfortunately, this being Japan, the damn thing will have disappeared from the shelves within a couple of weeks, leaving me all alone with those umbrella brandishing idiots.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

