Frozen Logic and Everyone in Wigs: Wednesday 7th December

Today I didn’t have to go into work until this evening’s performance of ‘Route 99’, and so I spent a delightful afternoon window shopping in bookstores, managing to convince myself that I really didn’t need to buy anymore books until I had read all of the one’s on my bookshelf, and then buying them anyway. Unfortunately I arrived at the theatre a little before the doors were due to open, and as I had no gloves with me I ended up wandering around a local supermarket for 15 minutes to kill time. My logic being that it was far more appropriate to be wondering amiably through a nearby frozen foods section than it would have been to pace around a warm theatre foyer, logic at which my hands were far from happy about.

Closure.

When I finally got into the warmth of the auditorium, and the play began, I was surprised to see that even more changes to the blocking had been made since yesterday, in addition to which everyone now appeared to be wearing wigs! Even though I was hardly involved in the artistic side of the rehearsals, I still felt a certain amount of trepidation in watching tonight’s performance, as I have got to know quite a few of the cast members over the past few weeks. A few missed lines aside though everyone did a fantastic job, and surprisingly (given the amount of times I have now seen this production) the 3 1/2 hours seemed to fly by, probably because each scene was only performed the once.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

