Christmas Lights and Falafel: Thursday 8th December

This evening I had a couple of things to do in Harajuku, and so was forced into braving the bustling December streets. Unfortunately it was raining, and so there was the usual danger of being blinded every ten seconds or so, albeit magnified by the fact that everyone in Tokyo seemed to be constantly walking on the same street, and in the opposite direction to me. My body was just on the verge of spontaneously combusting with rage when something wonderful happened: the Christmas lights came on, causing everyone to simultaneously look up and gasp as the now festively illuminated street. Even the gaudy advert-posing-as-a-Christmas-tree looked resplendent, and within a couple of minutes the rain had eased off, and I was able to put away my umbrella; I was the only one who did mind!

Even working together, umbrellas and rampant Capitalism still couldn't ruin Christmas.

For today’s dinner I went with a couple of friends to a Moroccan restaurant, where for only ¥1000 I had the biggest and tastiest Falafel sandwich since my arrival in Japan. It was also my first Falafel sandwich since arriving in Japan, but that really should not detract from the excellence of the fare. My future patronage was assured when the owner sprinted down the road after us to return my umbrella, obviously the fact that I had ended up with most of my dinner either in my moustache or on his work surfaces had in no way affected his establishments superb hospitality.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Lights and Falafel: Thursday 8th December

  1. Haikugirl says:

    Oh this has made me all “natsukashii”! I remember the first falafels I had in Japan (after more than a year). They tasted amazing, even though I knew they were half the quality of the ones back home. 😉

Leave a Reply

