The General Well Being of My Fellow Commuters and The Dangers of Abbreviation: Thursday 15th December

Tomorrow I fly back to England, yay! On a 06:25 flight, boo! My neuroticism dictates that I must arrive at the airport at least two hours prior to boarding, meaning another night spent sleeping rough in Haneda airport, wahoo! In my infinite wisdom I had also decided that it would be far less hassle attempting to manoeuvre my one-wheeled suitcase through the streets of Tokyo, than it would have been to track someone down who could actually fix the damn thing. Frankly, the prospect of having to explain that the missing wheel was somewhere in a remote Hokkaido train station filled me with dread, and so instead I settled on wheeling/lifting/throwing the blasted contraption all the way to the airport. In hindsight, the thought process (which let’s face it was pretty non-existent) that went into this decision should definitely have factored in the general well being of my fellow commuters.

Home sweet home.

Even before I arrived at Haneda there was very nearly disaster. My e-ticket said that I was due to depart from Terminal I, which I had (more than reasonably) assumed meant Terminal One. However, on boarding the monorail to the airport I noticed that there was also an International Terminal. A quick check on my iPhone confirmed my suspicion that the UK was indeed an international destination, and upon closer inspection I saw that my e-ticket actual said Terminal I (for International), and not Terminal 1, as I had earlier assumed. Now I am sure that I would have been able to rectify my mistake during the eight and a bit hours that I had at the airport, but this really did seem like an oversight of the airline/airport/whoever sent me the e-ticket, and was another timely reminder about the possible dangers of abbreviation.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

