Emergency Carpentry and Good to be Back: Friday 30th December

And so I found myself at 20,000ft, slumming it in economy with only plastic cutlery and a non-moveable headrest for comfort. As the captain was making his introductory remarks, he mentioned that at about 2-3 hours into the journey we should expect some reasonably severe turbulence, and so I quickly took evasive action and hid my watch so that I wouldn’t torment myself by counting down to the inevitable. In the end the flight was actually okay, although I had somehow contrived to loose my earring, and was only able to retrieve it once I had ripped up part of the carpet; unsurprisingly this emergency carpentry was met with abject horror by my fellow passengers.

New Years' decorations, arranged in a 'welcoming' fashion.

I eventually got back to my apartment in Tokyo, luggage and all, and once unpacked found myself desperately in need of a long run and a trip to the Sento. Whilst on my run I narrowly avoided three head on collisions with sense-deprived pedestrians, succeeded in running two bicycles off the pavement and into the path of oncoming vehicles, and produced a string of expletives that would have shamed a Glaswegian gutter. Thankfully I still had the Sento to look forward to, as surely this would calm my now shredded nerves and remove all of the tension from my British Airways compressed spine. As an added bonus I also got to pretend that I didn’t notice as the locals moved closer to watch me bathe, like the European freak that I am. Oh boy is it good to be back.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

