All Night Heating and a Diamanté Bolo Tie and Monday 2nd January

I woke up this morning to find that my living quarters (i.e. roughly half of my ‘apartment’) were surprisingly toasty. At first I attributed this good news to an upturn in the recent arctic conditions, but on closer inspection it appeared that I had left my kotatsu on throughout night. Thankfully I had at least removed the futon, and so the risk of flammable objects had been narrowed down to only the floor, the walls, and my extremely flammable looking beanbags, but of greater concern was the inevitable impact that this would have on my next heating bill. That being said, giving the seemingly haphazard way in which they are calculated, I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see a discount in my next billing.

A veritable bargain.

Today the sales began, and so I set off into Shibuya armed only with a wad full of money; a desire to hang onto it at all costs; and a certainty that even if I were to find anything that I actually liked, the chances of them having it in my size were slim to none. Somehow I managed to resist the temptation to purchase a replica NASA space suit, which in LOFT’s 50% off sale was a snip at only ¥99,750 (~£835), however I did not set off entirely home empty handed. Somehow I had managed to end up with some multi-coloured (but predominantly pink) trainers, a white studded belt that wouldn’t have looked out of place on Freddy Mercury, and a diamanté Bolo tie; purchases which were at the very least essential, and in the case of the Bolo tie possibly life changing.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Night Heating and a Diamanté Bolo Tie and Monday 2nd January

  1. Mike says:

    I’ve left my big heater on for full days and it hasn’t impoverished me yet. Not to worry!

    You will be kicking yourself for not buying that space suit! I mean, what will you wear with the tie, belt and trainers?

Leave a Reply

