Walking the Cat and High Stakes: Tuesday 3rd January

This morning, as I was attempting to avoid malicious sadists innocent pedestrians on my morning run I came across a man who was taking his cat for a walk. Now ordinarily the fact that someone had a cat on a leash would be odd enough, but this chap had decided to go one step further, and was actually walking his cat up a tree. That’s right a tree. Only in Japan would someone deem it necessary to attach a harness to a feline, and then supervise it as it attempted to scramble up some foliage. Intrigued by the scene as I was, I moved swiftly on, as I had no desire to see what would happen when the cat needed to do its business.

Game very much On.

This evening a group of us met to play a game of poker. Whilst the stakes were high (¥500 buy-in), the ludicrous amounts of coke zero and coffee that I had drunk throughput the day meant that I was even higher, and I so I surprised myself by coming second and winning back my initial purse. Unfortunately the option to ‘win back’ all of the hydration that I had robbed myself of throughput the day meant that I went to bed with a sore head, and a slightly spinning room; like being drunk but without any of the imaginary glamour.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

