A Rather Simple Premise and Triangular Bubble Perms: Thursday 5th January

Having now officially finished my language training, I have spent the last couple of days putting together a plan of action in regards to my Japanese education. Having come to the conclusion that I almost certainly failed the JLPT N2 test that I took at the beginning of last month, I have decided to aim for a resist come next December. The benefit of not being at school, aside from the constant impression of stupidity, means that I am able to tailor a program to suit my individual needs, the summary of which is that basically I need to redo all of what I have been taught so far, but to do it better. A rather simple premise, but one in which I already have complete confidence in my ability to destroy.

I had finally found an ideal photo opportunity for my new trainers.

This afternoon Darren and I watched a Japanese film (subtitles) entitled Minbo: the Gentle Art of Japanese Extortion, in which the Yakuza were satirised as a kind of bumbling, aggressive mob. The best part about the film was definitely its shameless eighties-ness, and so I was shocked when I discovered that it had actually been released in 1992, if only because this meant that shoulder pads and triangular bubble perms went on for a good 3 years longer than I had previously thought.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

