Rashomon and an Internal Wiring Fault: Friday 6th January

This morning I was invited to Saitama Theatre for a free showing of the Akira Kurosawa masterpiece ‘Rashomon’. Having previously seen the film with the aid of English subtitles I was thankfully at least reasonably familiar with the premise, which essentially boils down to a morality tale in the ‘not everything is as it seems’ mould. Amazingly I genuinely think that I understood the film much better than the first time I watched it, although this was probably a reflection on the fact that I was able to completely ignore any potential allegory, instead focussing on the basics of the story itself. If only this was always the case, that my lack of compression could be used as a crutch rather than a bludgeon.

A slightly better synopsis than the one I managed to produce, at least I’m sure it would be if I bothered to check it.

I am well aware that I constantly hark on about how cold it is here in Tokyo, but I have come to realise that this is almost certainly due to an internal wiring fault, as opposed to any underlying weather patterns; I imagine that even a winter in Mumbai would cause difficulties for my ‘circulation’. In truth the winters here are quite wonderful: it never rains; we don’t have 100 mph winds buffeting us at every turn; and best of all the sun is always shining. This means that I am able to quite happily walk down the street in a giant sheepskin, gloves, furry hat, and sunglasses, and not feel in the least but self-conscious. Although I suspect that this may well be related to that internal wiring fault I mentioned earlier.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

