No Pain No Gain and Making Music Specifically to Offend Me: Sunday 8th January

Prone to exaggeration as I am, I honestly cannot remember waking up and being in as much pain as I was this morning. My entire body felt like it had been hit by a truck, which had then proceeded to reverse over me again and again and again. Muscles which I did not even know existed were screaming out in pain, and the simple task of getting up to go the toilet became my Everest moment. Things very very gradually started to improve, but only when I began building stretching routines in between every menial task that I was able to accomplish. If the saying ‘no pain no gain’ is to hold true, then the next time I go snowboarding I expect to have improved to at least a semi-pro standard.

The chilled out vibes of 'screaming shouting' woman.

This evening I managed to persuade my body that it was still capable of movement, and headed off with friends for an evening of Denny’s and experimental music! Sadly the family dining and gig were two entirely separate entities (as I would have liked nothing more than to eat Japanese Americana food whilst being assaulted by a wall of noise), but it was still a match made in heaven. The first band could best be described as being a group of technically very gifted musicians who were unaware of each other and fronted by a woman who loved screaming, whilst the second act seemed to be something of a cross between people who were making music specifically to offend me, and people who were making music specifically to offend me. Still, it was a fun evening, and the price was most definitely right: free!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

