An Overheated Crotch and the English Understudy System: Tuesday 10th January

During the winter, the heated seats on the Tokyo trains are an absolute lifesaver, but why on Earth do they also insist on having the doors stay fully open at every station, no matter how long you are waiting for? The simple act of closing them would mean that the under-seat heating could be turned down from the  ‘centre of the sun’, setting, and also that I wouldn’t end up with a frozen torso and an overheated crotch by the time I get to work.

Whilst this photo does a good job of capturing the early onset of frostbite in my fingers, it fails to show the fact that my legs are practically on fire. Thank you public transport, thank you.

During rehearsals today someone got an absolute roasting from the director for being late, causing me to reassess my ‘arrive 20 minutes before required’ policy as being a little too risqué. After this telling-off the director then proceeded to give a long talk to the cast regarding the understudy system in English theatre. Quite aside from the complexity of the language I didn’t really follow much of what was being said, as I kept expecting to be asked to give a summary, and was thus frantically trying to remember the Japanese for ‘under appreciated’. Thankfully I wasn’t called upon, and so my hastily assembled thoughts were consigned to their rightful place in the trashcan of my subconscious.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

