Faux Modelling and a Car Crash of a Discourse: Wednesday 11th January

I was innocently walking through Shibuya this afternoon when a man who wanted to know if I was a model approached me. Obviously this had everything to do with my Slavic cheekbones and porcelain skin, as opposed to the fact that I was wearing a purple bow tie, skin-tight sheepskin jacket, and hipster shades. The gentleman in question wanted to know if I was free for two days modelling work next week, and so I gave him my contact details and let him take a couple of photos. In hindsight the only place those body shots are going to end up is on the photographer’s bedroom wall, but I’m still keeping my fingers crossed for a phone call from D&G.

One of the many calorific treats on offer.

This evening I attended a belated New Years eve soiree with my fellow scholars, where the dangers of a buffet once again presented themselves to me; could there be any worse combination than a table full of free food and a man with no restraint? Towards the end of the evening I made my excuses and asked if the party would be coming to an end soon, whereupon I was asked to give a speech to bring things to a close, in Japanese! My car crash of a discourse went something along the lines of ‘It’s been a difficult year, thanks for coming, and… my inner feelings are good for the year ahead!’, hardly Chuchwellian, but at least it had the desired effect of clearing the room!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

