An Unhygienic Incident and Newfound Back Support: Thursday 12th January

Today I had to pay a visit to the doctors, more to put my mind at ease than for anything serious. After being recommended an English-speaking doctor (as I had neither diarrhoea, nor was I in a vegetative state, I had no relevant Japanese at my disposal) in Shimokitazawa, I headed down there, filled in a form and took a seat in the waiting room. When I was eventually called in to see the doctor, the nurse said that she needed to take my temperature and passed me a thermometer. I was just about to pop it into my mouth when she explained that it needed to go under my armpit, thereby saving me from a rather unhygienic and embarrassing incident. It turned out (as expected) that everything was fine, and with my National Health Insurance the consultation only came to ¥810 (~£7), which was considerably cheaper than I had been expecting.

At long last: comfort.

Having finally decided that I needed to invest in a floor-chair that actually had something resembling back support, I scoured Craig’s list and found a suitable culprit, less than an hour from my house and priced at only ¥500. When I rang the chap who was selling it for directions, we had the usual chat about transport: he insisted that I would need it, I maintained that the Tokyo transport system was sufficient. Unfortunately for me he lived a good 20 minutes from the nearest train station, meaning that by the time I finally got back to my apartment I was forced into making the use of my newfound back support, conveniently ignoring the fact that it barely fit under my kotastu.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

