A Victorian Parlour and Sophie’s Winter House: Friday 13th January

Today I was resolved to locate a cafe in Shibuya that I have been trying to find for well over a year; I decided to take the rather radical step of inputting the address into my iPhone’s GPS, and low and behold if it didn’t come up trumps. The cafe in question is called the ‘Lion’, and its basic decor and demeanour can best be described as a cross between a Victorian parlour and the Orient express. All of the seats face a giant set of speakers that constantly provide a background of classical music, whilst the clientele simply sit in silence, reading and listening to the music, which is carefully selected and arranged on a daily basis. A hub of conversational delights this is not, but as a place to escape with a good book and a cup of cocoa for a couple of hours it was well worth the wait.

Inside the Lion’s den.

As part of my new Japanese learning method I have decided that I need interesting and tangible texts in order to improve my reading ability. I therefore went out and purchased a few ‘graded reader’ books, which basically amount to Japanese children’s stories. I figured that this would be a good way to keep me reading without becoming too disheartened, and I now find myself very excited to find out what happens at ‘Sophie’s Winter House’!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

