Monkey Business and a Kindly Soul: Saturday 14th January

This morning I headed down to the Daikoku (the god of wealth) Matsuri Festival at the Kanda Myojin Shrine, where a purification ceremony (people coming of age pour icy water over themselves) was due to take place. I arrived just in time to see the half naked and fully hypothermic participants, and then somehow ended up being ushered into a Shinto formal ceremony. Needless to say I looked horrifically out of place, and the large amounts of bowing that was required did wonders for my stiff neck. Afterwards I wandered around a bit, and found a donkey being kept in a small enclosure, whilst a monkey performed tricks in the car park. Whilst the donkey seemed to have some kind of significance to the festival, I was unable to ascertain the purpose of the monkey, nor indeed if it was even shrine affiliated.

Nothing to see here, just a monkey performing tricks in a car park.

I popped into a branch of ‘Book-off’ (a second hand book shop) near Meguro this afternoon, as I was in search of a couple of items. After finding what I was after I fancied a quick peruse through the Japanese study books, but couldn’t find them anywhere and so asked a member of staff, who was busy restocking the shelves, for assistance. It wasn’t until I saw him pick up his coat that I realized my mistake, i.e. that I had mistakenly asked a fellow customer for help. This kindly soul then proceeded to march through the store and track down the language-learning section for me, and looked as though he was about to pick out a few choice titles for my consideration, before I kindly thanked him for his time and resolved, in the future, to look for a badge first and ask questions later.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monkey Business and a Kindly Soul: Saturday 14th January

  1. What Japanese study books are you looking for? There are quite a lot of good ones out there.

    • truehamlet says:

      Just something to practice my reading. The graded readers seem to be quite a good start, but there isn’t much choice. 😦

Leave a Reply

