Rakugo and What I Was Tonight: Tuesday 17th January

This evening a couple of friends and I went to a Rakugo performance in Tsukishima. Rakugo, which literally translates as ‘fallen words’, is a form of theatrical entertainment, where one storyteller tells a (often comedic) tale using a couple of props (typically a cloth and a fan), impersonating many characters along the way. The evening consisted of a couple of such performances, interlaced with various musical interludes, and was set in the middle of a sake (alcohol) shop, the perfect location for a teetotaler.

Words Falling… on deaf ears.

For some unknown reason, as the event was drawing to a close, I was invited up to the front of the stage to introduce myself. After giving my token spiel of who I am, and what I am doing in Japan, I was asked by one member of the assembled throng ‘What I was tonight?’ Resisting the urge to respond with a ‘Well tonight Matthew…’ quip, I neatly sidestepped the question by indicating that I desperately needed the toilet. The response from the audience indicated that there might well be a future in Rakugo for me yet.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

