Disneyland and an Unexpected Ending: Sunday 22nd January

Today I had an experience that fully regressed me to a childlike state: I went to Tokyo Disneyland. I finally used the tickets that a friend had bought me for my birthday last year, and despite the foul weather I can honestly say that it was one of the highlights of my time in Japan so far. In fact, it was precisely because of the foul weather that it was such a magnificent experience; the morning downpour meaning that the park was practically empty, and the longest we had to queue for any ride was about 20 minutes. In the afternoon the weather cleared up an absolute treat, and whilst I was a little bit cold, I looked practically on fire compared to some of the girls dancing in the afternoon parade.

Tigger had taken the job cuts harder than most...

By the end of the day we had managed to fit in 15 different rides, as well as the afternoon’s parade in its entirety. Of all the rides my favourite was probably the Monsters, Inc. ‘Ride and Go Seek’, where we used flashlights to search for a variety of monsters in a factory. The most surprising ride was definitely the Snow White attraction, as whilst I was expecting it to be slightly scary (having being terrified of the American Disney World version as a child), I certainly wasn’t expecting it to end so abruptly, with Snow White dead and not a Prince in sight. I guess that Japanese kids are just made of sterner stuff than their soft Western counterparts.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

