My Future Career as a Playwright and Avoiding Whips: Thursday 26th January

The director has now taken to speaking to me on a regular basis, which I take to both a blessing (he is a very distinguished and interesting character) and a curse (I am constantly worried about my Japanese). Today he wanted to know what I did in my spare time, and so I told him that I write plays, and asked if he would like to read any of them. This resulted in good-natured laughter from him and the rest of the crew, which I took to be very positive news in regards to my future career as a playwright.

The red marker was conspicuous by its absence.

This evening I had a meeting with my old Sensei, as I needed to go over the speech that I plan to give at March’s graduation ceremony. I was slightly apprehensive about the encounter, as I already been informed, via email, that Sensei had read the first draft of my speech, and had a lot that she wanted to say; never a good sign. Thankfully the main point that Sensei wanted to make was that I needed to make the speech a bit more interesting, as I had gotten so bogged down in thanking people that I wasn’t actually saying anything of particular merit. I was then told to call to mind a composition that I had written for her last year, about my fictional occupation as a lion tamer, and to channel that spirit into the upcoming speech. I shall do my best, but think that it might be best for all concerned if I avoid mentioning whips.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

