The Play I Thought I Saw and a Happy Ending: Saturday 4th February

As expected today’s work began with a conversation with the director, who wanted to know what I had thought of last night’s performance. I told him that even though I had understood only 20-30% (a wild exaggeration) of the content I had been thoroughly impressed with the style, scenery, and lighting, which I likened to that of the film. He seemed reasonably appeased with my response, and thankfully didn’t question my in any detail on what I had made of the plot, as I am in no doubt that the play I thought I saw last night is a million miles away from the one that he directed.

Sunset near Setagayadaita station, with Mt. Fuji just visible in the background.

In rehearsing for ‘Hamlet’ we have been steadily working our way through each of the scenes, blocking them over and over again until the director is happy with them. We seem to be pretty much on schedule, as today we did the final scene; meaning that the whole play has now been fully blocked and rehearsed, with a little over two weeks to go. However, I think that the pace must be getting to some of the actors, as they keep making rather obvious, and therefore hilarious mistakes. Today for example, in the final scene (in which everyone dies), the King decided that it would be a good idea to poison the chalice before he drank from it, thereby meaning that his treachery was put to an end to save the remainder of the cast, which had it been allowed to run its course would have made for a far happier, albeit brutally dull ending than the one which the Bard had intended.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

