A Superb Working Arrangement and Insert Adjective Here: Sunday 5th January

In today’s rehearsal we were visited by about 50 or so secondary school children, who were here to observe the rehearsal process. This had a knock-on effect on my own observations, as it meant that I was unable to observe from my usual seat, because of limitations regarding space, and was thus moved up onto one of the balconies. However, rather than find myself inconvenienced by this decision I was delighted, as it meant that I was able to get a completely different (bird’s eye) view of the stage, whilst my strategic placement away from prying eyes meant that when the Japanese got too much, I could simply read my book without fear of being chastised; all-in-all a superb ‘working’ arrangement.

Here I am looking somewhat mischievous in a public place, for a change.

After the children had taken their seats, the director introduced all of the cast and crew, and then for some unknown reason my name was called out. I was introduced as an intern from the UK and then something was said which I didn’t quite catch, but which resulted in rapturous laughter. I simply smiled, bowed repeatedly, and hoped that the comment had been complimentary. Unfortunately this outburst meant that I wasn’t able to give the proceeding Q&A session the full attention that it deserved, as my mind was focused on constructing an interesting, and more importantly grammatically correct, question just in case the (insert adjective here) British intern was called upon for an opinion. Thankfully he wasn’t, but it was a far from relaxing experience.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

