Misspelling ECT and My First Trilingual Play: Monday 6th February

A week today and my class will be performing ‘ECT: Friend of Foe’ in front of a live audience. A lot of progress had already been made since last week, and today we were able to tie together a lot of the loose threads, and do a couple of full runs. However, a large element of the performance relies upon audience interaction, whilst the denouement requires a certain suspension of disbelief, so whilst I have every faith in my students there is still an element of trepidation. An emotion which was no doubt experienced by the students when they saw the tickets that I had made for next week, as they politely pointed out that not only had I got the price and sponsor’s name wrong, but that l had even somehow managed to misspell ECT!

Enticing false advertising.

Today I also found out that the China trip is taking on many new and exciting forms. At first I thought that I was being charged with running a workshop for a few hundred Chinese students, but now it transpires that this is not the case. Instead I have to produce a script, and rehearse with my Drama Communication students for a performance that will be performed in Beijing. At first I thought that this would be a much easier task, but then I found out that the script should be trilingual (English, Japanese, and Chinese) and have small roles for some of the Beijing students to participate in, whilst the plot should be a satire be centred around how international collaboration can be coupled with culture and ancient belief systems in the development of new technology. It’ll certainly be interesting, although I can’t promise that it will be spelt correctly!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

