Traffic Cones and a Unique Medical Condition: Friday 10th February

Rehearsals this afternoon were due to start at around 13:00, and so I arrived at around midday, just to be on the safe side, at which point I was informed that rehearsals wouldn’t actually be starting until for another hour and a half, and that I wasn’t allowed into the theatre because adjustments were being made to the set. Reporting back at 13:15 I was told that there would be a further delay until around 14:00. When I was finally allowed into the theatre I was presented by the rather ominous sign of traffic cones and emergency barriers cornering off one of the trapdoors, a thoroughly necessary safety precaution, but surely only a temporary measure; I can’t imagine that such things existed in Medieval Denmark.

Inside the 'Fun Factory'.

I am spending this weekend at a friend’s family home in Nagano, and so this evening I found myself lost, battered at Shinjuku station during rush hour, whilst I desperately tried to remember where the bus terminal was. In reality, to call it a terminal would be doing the word a terrible injustice, it is better described as a hodge-podge of poorly designed infrastructure, surrounded on all sides by screaming men and nausea-inducing display boards. Eventually we got on the 19:30 bus, and were just getting settled into the 3 hour bus rise when it began: two rows back and to the left of where we were sitting there was a woman who seemed to have developed a unique medical condition, which manifested itself in a necessity to loudly clear her throat every twenty seconds or so. Needless to say it wasn’t the most pleasant of journeys, and I am sure that my friend’s mother was slightly concerned about why the Englishman who would be staying with her this weekend had such a prominent nervous tick.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

