A Japanese Childhood I Never Had and Suspect Gambling: Saturday 11th February

I awoke this morning on a king-sized bed in a room that dwarfed my entire apartment, threw back the curtains to reveal a panoramic view of rolling fields and snow topped mountains, and once again questioned myself why anyone would actually choose to live in Tokyo. A Saturday morning not spent in the recesses of a stranger’s armpit, whilst paying for the privilege (I am of course talking about the Tokyo Metro) did wonders for my mood and complexion, whilst a wonder around one of the nearby towns, celebrating a local festival, filled me with nostalgia for a Japanese childhood that I never had.

The King of Pachinko.

This evening I had my first experience in a Pachinko Parlour. These somewhat bizarre places have been set up as a way for the Japanese to get their kicks in a country which has outlawed gambling. They basically consist of endless rows of machines, which people sit in front of and try and guide a load of metallic balls into a small hole, in order to win more metal balls; it is about 95% luck and 5% skill, and afterwards you exchange your metal balls for a variety of cards, which are then traded off the premises for money. It is a completely bizarre, crooked, and yet thoroughly competent system. Yuko’s mum is allegedly a bit of a Pachinko ‘expert’ and got me off to a start by putting ¥1000 (~£82!!!) in my machine, and I spent the next two hours or so doing my best to loose it for her. I ended proceedings around ¥5800 down (on someone else’s money!), and was told to keep the ¥4200 that I had won for myself. Even with those kinds of overheads, or perhaps because of them, I shall not be adding suspect gambling to my list of vices.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

