A Thank You to Sheer Bloody Mindedness and 2kg of Meat: Sunday 12th February

I had somehow managed to convince Yuko that what she really wanted to do at half past seven on a Sunday morning was to get up, drive me down to Sawako, and then wait for me whilst I did a lap of the lake. The weather was beautiful; it was one of those perfect Japanese winter days, and the scenery genuinely jaw-dropping, meaning that I was able to cover the 16km in a constant state of bliss. Yuko was waiting for me in an outside foot-spa, and I treated us both to a nearby Onsen as a thank you for her diligence, and for my sheer bloody mindedness; having packed my jogging gear and carried it through rush hour on Friday night, I was hardly not going to use it.

Guess which one is the large.

For lunch, Yuko’s mum took us out to a famous Katsudon (a bowl of rice topped with a deep-fried pork cutlet) restaurant, where large, medium, and small portions were ordered for me, Yuko, and Yuko’s mum respectively. I first began to suspect that I might be entering dangerous waters when the small portion was brought out, as it was, by all accounts, massive. When my lunch was finally laid in front of me I started to panic, as there was clearly no way that I could put away what amounted to about 2kg of meat! Sure enough, by the time I was about 2/3 of the way through my dinner I was lagging, at which point I devised a new strategy, and started trying to convince myself that ever bite was my first. I eventually finished the monster, although it turns out that eating that much meat and rice shortly before a 3-hour bus ride (back to Tokyo) is not the best of ideas.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

