A Spectacular Failure and Upstaging Me: Monday 13th February

Today I got the results of my JLPT test, and as expected I had absolutely tanked it, barely registering a quite frankly pathetic 41%. As the test had been composed of multiple choice questions, with a possible four answers for each, this meant that all of my hard work and study over the past 16 months or so had added precisely 16% to what I could have achieved by simply randomly guessing the answers, although thinking back to December’s exam this is pretty much what I did anyway. I was expecting a significant failure, so I can’t say that I’m particularly surprised, or indeed disheartened. In fact I am resolved that one day relatively soon (within the next 5 years or so) I will re-take that test and not only pass it, but… no on second thoughts I’ll settle for just passing it.

Someone had rather foolishly left me in charge of the lights...

This evening marked the fruition of all the hard work put in by my Drama Communication students over the past 3-4 months: a performance in front of a live audience. Things didn’t get off to the best of starts, as for some inexplicable reason I had been asked to say a few words in Japanese to kick things off with, although in hindsight this was clearly a masterstroke, as after my performance the students could have curled up into a ball, remained immobile for half an hour, and still managed to upstage me. Thankfully they did no such thing, and were in fact magnificent, delighting the crowd and making their Sensei very proud indeed. It has been an absolute honour and a privilege to work with them, and I have certainly learned at least as much from them as I have taught, and almost certainly more.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

