A Questionable Fee and Bread in a Public Place: Thursday 16th February

Owing to the fact that I was unsuccessful in my application for JSPS funding I shall be returning to the UK at the end of March. In light of the positive comments we received regarding our funding application I shall be applying again in May, for a September start, but in the meantime I thought it best to return to the land of central heating and readable small print. At any rate, the prospect of paying nigh on Β£600 a month for 19 squared metres of ‘living space’ was something I felt I could do without. As such, this morning I paid a visit to my estate agent, in order to inform them of my intentions to move out of my apartment at the end of March. I had been expecting an extremely complicated transaction, but I was in and out within half an hour, understood 90% of what was going on, and managed to get my point across reasonably well. In fact the only mistake I think I made was when I tried to ask for the deposit (nyuukin) to be repaid to Daiwa rather than to me personally. The blank face of the estate agent indicated that I had obviously made some kind of error, and after consulting with my dictionary it turned out that I had actually given instructions on how to pay my ‘fee’ (ryoukin). Thankfully though I rectified my mistake, thereby avoiding having to explain why I thought I deserved payment for asking to move out of my apartment.

Famously Promiscuous.

I had a very bizarre conversation with the director and some of the theatre staff this afternoon. It began when I was offered a cheese and bacon croissant, causing me to comment on how sweet Japanese bread was. Somehow this lead into a chat about black puddings and other tasty food that was bad for you, before a bizarre twist saw me being accused of being a ‘playa’. I’m not entirely sure of the link between yeast, pig’s blood, and being overly promiscuous, but I shall certainly be more careful the next time I am offered bread in a public place.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

