Russia and Learning to Deal with Excessive Pain: Friday 18th February

I plan to travel back to the UK via Russia, taking in the Trans-Siberian (Vladivostok to Moscow) on the way with my brother Josh. Ergo I need a Russian visa, and so this morning headed off to the Russian embassy, with application forms, passport, photographs (newly taken and reflecting me in a far less criminal light), and invitation (applied for online, this basically amounts to paying someone for permission to use Russian hotels) in hand. The staff were incredibly helpful (the chap I dealt with spoke fluent English), and aside from having to fill in another form, specific to UK passport holders (and which required me to list all of the countries I had visited in the last 10 years, yet gave me only three lines in which to do so), all of my documentation seemed to be in order. We shall find out for certain next Friday, when hopefully my next trip to the Russian embassy will be equally as successful.

Why let a little thing like made-up adjectives get in the way of 'good' advertising.

Today there was a full run of ‘Hamlet’ from start to finish, and at just over 4 hours long (including an interval) it was certainly a good exercise in learning to deal with excessive pain, as the small seats and lack of leg room meant that I was pretty much hobbled by the end of the rehearsal. Things are definitely coming together though, and we came very close to having an entire run with zero trapdoor-related mishaps. I feel certain we can get that nailed over the next couple of days (Monday is opening night), and if not… well it’s just something else for the audience to think about.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

