The Xenophobic Approach to Genealogy Shown by my Forefathers and Sparklers: Tuesday 28th February

Today I celebrated my 28th birthday by starting my observation of a new play that has just begun rehearsing at the theatre. The play in question is Cymbeline, and as one of Shakespeare’s lesser know plays, it is one which I had absolutely no previous knowledge of, prior to a quick glance at the Wikipedia synopsis. Thankfully, even from this limited research I was able to garner that the play is set in Wales, and so I wasn’t completely taken aback when the director asked if I had any Welsh heritage. A swift rebuttal on my behalf meant that there were no follow up questions, leaving me surprisingly grateful for the xenophobic approach to genealogy shown by my forefathers.

Birthday wishes.

This evening I had a wonderful meal at a restaurant in central Tokyo with my fabulous friends, which for the second year running was organised by Sarah, who through no fault of her own has become my very own birthday planner! The whole event was a terrific way of dulling the melancholic pain that comes with growing older, and it was also a fitting way to say goodbye to a lot of people before I head back home. It was difficult not to get a little teary-eyed, but thankfully I remembered that I am an emotional robot who is only able to show his true feelings by crying at the end of children’s films, meaning that I was quickly able to man up and blow the sparklers out on my profiterole birthday cake. A fitting end to the evening.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Xenophobic Approach to Genealogy Shown by my Forefathers and Sparklers: Tuesday 28th February

  1. Haikugirl says:

    Happy birthday, Sam! Your profiteroles look good! (^_^)v

Leave a Reply

