A Digital Conveyor Belt of Lies and Guten Morgen: Wednesday 29th February

This morning I awoke to see Tokyo covered in a blanket of snow, which apart from looking incredibly beautiful meant that I faced a day of numbness and late trains. As it turned out, for no discernable reason other than to spite me, the only train line that was delayed this morning was the bloody Saikyo line, meaning that it took me over two hours to get to work! My mood was worsened by the electrical displays, whose information relating to the lateness of the trains kept on increasing in increments of 10 minutes, leading me to stop regarding them as a useful service, and to instead see them as the digital conveyer belt of lies that that truly are.

Today's weather created this natural snow globe in one of the theatre's atrium.

When I eventually traipsed into work, I was greeted with the usual chorus of ohayou gozaimasu (good morning), that is the standard salutary exchange in the Japanese theatre environment. Bizarrely though one of the actors greeted me with a cheery ‘guten Morgan’. Now either he associates me with a level of linguistic competency of which I can only dream, or he genuinely thought I was German. The harsh side parting that I also happened to be sporting today probably had something to do with it, either that or my obsession with punctuality.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

