A Riot at the International Supermarket and Saving on the Rent: Thursday 1st March

There was very nearly a riot at the international supermarket in Shibuya this afternoon, as I was informed that they had run out of oatmeal. Sadly, not only were they out of stock, but they also seemed to have filled its usual position with a new type of cereal, meaning that the outlook for my future oat consumption is bleak indeed. I managed to resist the temptation to stock up on 10 kg of muesli and 30 l of mango juice, telling myself that if they decided to stop stocking those as well then it was probably time to give up.

Quite what this has to do with Onion soup (Gentry or not) is beyond me.

In order to save on rent, and to make sure I have everything sorted before I move back to the UK (but mainly to save on rent), I am moving to Yuko’s in a few week’s time, spending my final few days in Japan at her apartment. So that I am not left hauling tonnes of stuff (which I eventually intend to ship home anyway) at the last minute, I decided to take it over in a couple of trips over the next week or so. Unfortunately this seemingly logical plan had two fatal flaws: 1) I have enough clothes to open a small boutique; and 2) I only have one suitcase, which also happens to be missing one of its wheels. Unperturbed by this unfortunate combination of events I, I struggled heroically through the Tokyo night, changing trains twice and just hoping against hope that the remaining wheel would hold. Thankfully it did, but I don’t hold out much hope for the remaining trips.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Riot at the International Supermarket and Saving on the Rent: Thursday 1st March

  1. Mike says:

    So you’re leaving?? When? Is this because your funding went dry?

    • truehamlet says:

      Mike,

      Basically yes. Sadly we were unsuccessful in our funding application, but very close and encouraged to apply again, which we will be doing. If we are successful with that then I’ll be back in September, but until then going back home for a wee while. Leave at the end of March, via Russia!

Leave a Reply

