The Mahabharata and The Crucible: Saturday 3rd March

At the end of this month Saitama Theatre is hosting the Japanese leg of Peter Brook’s ‘A Magic Flute’ world tour, and so there is currently a lot of outreach work being conducted in relation to Brook’s philosophy and directorial style. Today’s event consisted of a screening of his 1989 epic ‘The Mahabharata’, at the French institute in Iidabashi (definitely not Itabashi, I checked, re-checked, and re-re-checked), which at three hours in length would have represented the absolute limit of my ability to sit still. I say sitting, but sadly the cinema was full, so I had to stand in the downstairs foyer, with about 50 other patrons, watching the screen of the cinema through a video feed. Hardly ideal conditions, but I soon found myself unwittingly smuggled back into the theatre, where I got to sit on a cushion and listen to an hour long interview with a random studio musician, in French and Japanese, the point of which I failed to even slightly comprehend. After the brief intermission that followed, I completely selfishly gave up my cushion on the floor of the theatre, and returned to the foyer to watch the film. This meant that I was able to sneak out of the institute early, before I had to be committed to one.

Ideal viewing conditions at the French Institute.

Because I am nothing if not a masochist, this evening I spent a further three hours trapped inside a confined space, this time at a theatre in Ebisu, watching TIP’s production of Arthur Miller’s ‘The Crucible’. However, I am glad I did as it was excellent, superbly acted and with a very vivid direction. At any rate it was certainly far superior to the synopsis that I gave to Yuko throughout the performance, heaven only knows what play I was describing!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

