More Unnecessary Bureaucratic Rigmarole and Yet More Unnecessary Bureaucratic Rigmarole: Friday 9th March

I finally have my Chinese visa! Although not without yet more completely unnecessary bureaucratic rigmarole. After queuing up and presenting my receipt at window number 6, I then was given another receipt and told to pay my fee (¥4000) at one of the vending machines. After which I had to queue up at window 6, present three sets of receipts, and was then finally issued with my visa. Thankfully everything seems to be in order, meaning that I have absolute no need to ever visit the Chinese embassy in Tokyo ever again, which is a fortunate coincidence as my need perfectly matches my desire to do so.

Another inspirational view from the immigration office.

Unfortunately the tiresome task of jumping through administrative hoops, whilst waving a ribbon of red tape and singing oppressive arias, was not yet over for the day. As now that I had finally convinced the Chinese authorities that I should be allowed into their country for a few days, I had to go and seek permission to leave Japan whilst I did so. The Chinese visa situation was annoying, but almost (and I stress the use of the word almost) acceptable, however the very notion that I should have to apply for ‘permission’ to leave Japan, and pay for the privilege of doing so, seems to me nothing more than institutionalized racism and a desire to bleed the gaijin dry of all their money and free will. Thankfully the re-entry process at the Shinagawa Immigration Office wasn’t as painful as some of my previous experiences in that legislative hellhole, but the whole process is just a bloody joke, and not even a very funny one at that.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

