A Tale of Two Gloves and Ambiguous Instructions: Saturday 10th March

The cold weather that I have been constantly subjected to this winter means that I often have little alternative but to wear two pairs of gloves at a time, and even then any longer than five minutes away from my kotatsu and my hands end up looking like those of a mannequin’s. The use of two sets of gloves has also meant that the outer pair has recently become somewhat threadbare, and so today I was forced into taking drastic purchasing action. Realising that my hands are far too delicate for any temperatures below that of the sun’s surface, I purchased some double-layered Thinsulate snowboarding gloves to protect my icy talons. They were obviously designed for people that would be spending long periods of time in sub-zero conditions, and I am happy to report that in the 7° heat of a wet Tokyo weekend they seemed to be doing the trick. Sadly the sheer bulk of the gloves meant that whilst I could now feel my hands I was unable to perform even simple tasks, but at least the irony of the situation did not elude me.

The iron caskets for my china fingers.

This evening Akira and I went for dinner in Shimokitazawa, and as I had not seen him for a while I was hoping to take him somewhere nice. Unfortunately the place that I had in mind was fully booked, but the receptionist told us that if we were to wait for an ‘unspecified time period’ then we might be able to get a table, so we retired to a nearby pub for drinks. After an unspecified time period (I made it 30 minutes) had passed we returned to the restaurant, only to be told that it was still full, but that if we waited for another unspecified amount of time then a table might well become free. So once again we retired to the pub, and tried our utmost to follow our ambiguous instructions. After returning to the restaurant for a third time, we were informed that it was still full, but that if we waited for about 70 minutes then a table would almost certainly become available. At first I was tempted to take her up on this offer, so shocked was I by the appearance of clarity in our would-be-hostesses estimation, but then realizing that it was already gone nine o’clock common sense prevailed and we went off in search of another restaurant, managing almost immediately to find one which served delicious food and dealt in decisive actions.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

