My Last Day and a Brazilian BBQ: Wednesday 14th March

Today was my last day at work, and I was dreading it a little bit, as I knew that I would have to make a small speech in front of all the staff. Thankfully though it went well, and everyone was incredibly kind and congratulatory, as indeed they have been throughout my time at the theatre. The director also said some lovely things, and has insisted that I come and see the production of ‘Cymbeline’ when it plays at the Barbican in London later this year, which I am intent in doing. As a special treat today I was allowed to sit right at the very front of the action, next to the assistant director; I also had lots of bread thrust upon me, for reasons that never quite became clear. Overall my experience at Saitama has been a very positive one, and I leave with memories, inspiration, and an enhanced CV. That being said, I am most certainly not going to miss spending up to three hours a day on a bloody expensive train.

Yuko gets to grips with a rather large piece of meat, ahem.

Today was White Day, and as I wanted to show my appreciation to Yuko for all that she has done for me, I decided to repay her valentine gift to me with trip to the Brazilian BBQ in Shibuya, because nothing says romance more than an all you can eat meat buffet! In the two hours that were allotted to us, it is fair to say that I got my money’s worth. I also gave the other customer’s their money’s worth when I was asked to go up to the front of the stage and ‘dance’ a salsa with one of the belly dancers. Thankfully my utter uselessness meant that Yuko had little time for jealousy, as she was too busy crying with laughter. I knew who had the last laugh though, and it was most certainly not the restaurant’s profit margins.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

