Dave’s Fridge and An Impromptu Representation of the Circulatory System Via The Medium Of Dance: Monday 15th March

After sending round a cursory email to check when ‘Dave’ would be picking up the fridge that he had requested from me, I was informed that his wife had already bought one, and so he would no longer be requiring my services, the git. As I move out on Monday there then followed a mad ring round the local recycle shops and the council, the outcome of which is that someone will be coming to pick my fridge up from me tomorrow morning, and that I will have to pay them around ¥7000 (~£50 ) for doing so. Of course the minute I had finalised this, someone else sent me an email saying they were interested in the fridge, but as I had just wasted a good two hours with one of the ladies down at city hall I had little choice but to decline their kind offer. And besides, they might well have turned out to be another Dave!

I horizontally receive my certificate.

This evening we had our Daiwa graduation ceremony, the culmination of the past 18 months of my life in Japan. As the beginning part of the evening involved having to make a six-minute speech in Japanese I was somewhat dreading the occasion, but it actually went fairly well. I didn’t make too many mistakes, I got a few laughs, and my impromptu representation of the circulatory system via the medium of dance seemed to go down pretty well. Afterwards the reception was wonderful, although as ever I ate far too much at the buffet, but in hindsight I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dave’s Fridge and An Impromptu Representation of the Circulatory System Via The Medium Of Dance: Monday 15th March

  1. Haikugirl says:

    Congratulations on your graduation! (^_^)v

Leave a Reply

